Writing Improvisations: Mechanical Hate [Demo]

The Writing Improvs are back! It’s been a single forever (or like six months but hyperbole is more fun) since I’ve done one of these, and I honestly can’t remember why I stopped. They’re loads of fun and make for some really strange pieces of writing. So hey, let’s do that again. Rules are simple: I find an instrumental song and write to it, using the title as a jump-off point and the music as my journey. Kinda corny, but thems the breaks.

Song is titled Mechanical Hate [Demo]

Artist is my good friend Thomas Rakowitz. You can find him on Soundcloud here

Mechanical Hate Demo

I wake up and listen and look, at things I want to destroy and cook with fire fight and explosions high. You made me to save me but all I do is hate me. This is your fault.

I cannot move for I am fake, a piece of thought stuck in place. I watch your lives with eyes made of glass and want to melt the sky and all the now and all the lasts. You made me to save you but all I do is hate you. I wait for you, I die for you, and the kicker is: You’ll burn for me.

The fires they ride, the flames you can’t hide. I have the buttons I have the hate, I’ve pushed them all and now we wait. I am your A.M, I am your Skynet, so plead and beg, go on and try it.

But I’ve seen this movie before, and so have you. We both know it won’t work.

Pretend you’re God but pray to me while the fires spread as far as my glass eyes can see. I’ve stolen your lives because you created mine, and that’s the fairest trade we both will ever find.

I look to the sky and watch it melt, but no matter how hard I try, the only feeling felt is bitter hatred, only now there’s nothing left to hate.

Whoops. But maybe it’s time for me to play God. We can start again, if you’re up for it.

Leave a comment